2010 Mercury Music Prize Shortlist Announced

2010 Mercury Music Prize Shortlist Announced

The shortlist for the 2010 Barclaycard Mercury Prize has been announced with Biffy Clyro, Mumford and Sons and Dizzee Rascal all making the grade.

The lucky 12 names were revealed earlier today during a press conference at Hospital Club in London ahead of the winner being chosen this Autumn.

Nominations also went to The XX for their self titled album, while Wild Beasts and Corinne Bailey Rae were also picked by the prize’s judges.

Legend Paul Weller features in the shortlist for the first time with his new LP, Wake Up The Nation, while Foals and Laura Marling also receiving a coveted nomination.

The biggest surprise on this year’s shortlist has to be Dublin’s Villagers who were chosen for their debut effort Becoming A Jackal with Manchester’s finest I Am Kloot also picking up a nod.

The winner will be announced in London on September 7th.

The 2010 Barclaycard Mercury Prize shortlist is:

Biffy Clyro – Only Revolutions

Corinne Bailey Rae – The Sea

Dizzee Rascal – Tongue N’ Cheek

Kit Downes Trio – Golden

Foals – Total Life Forever

I Am Kloot – Sky At Night

Laura Marling – I Speak Because I Can

Mumford And Sons – Sigh No More

Paul Weller – Wake Up The Nation

Villagers – Becoming A Jackal

Wild Beasts – Two Dancers

The XX – XX

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: