Scorcher Underage Festival Interview


Scorcher

Ahead of his performance at last weekend’s Underage Festival, we caught up with Scorcher to talk about the music industry, who he is tipping for big things this year and how he feels after being signed by major label, Geffen.

Q: You are playing at Underage Festival today do you think that it’s important to have events like this?

A: When I was younger, I would have loved for there have been festivals like this, so I think that it is important for the music industry to have platforms like this. I would have loved this when I was younger, I would have definitely have been here.

Q: Who are you looking forward to seeing?

A: I would mind seeing M.I.A. I’ve seen all of the other names over the past couple of festivals but haven’t seen M.I.A before, so that for me is a big deal.

Q: What can you tell us about your new single It’s My Time?

A: I just wanted to make a song that had a deeper meaning, I wanted my song to be something that I can look back on & be proud of, to touch me deeply rather than every other song that is already out. I want it to be a song that people are going to remember.

Q: Did you enjoy making the video? You have directed videos for Skepta, JME, Wiley & Wretch 32; did you have much input in your own video?

A: Yeah, I directed all of the videos myself. The idea behind the video was that we wanted to show the story of me; the working hard, the struggle. We wanted to show people that hard work will pay off & you will achieve.

Q: We love the video here at MTV, there loads of people in it, especially children. What was it like working with them? They must have loved it?

A: Everyone says that working with children is hard work. You know the myth, ‘Don’t work with kids & animals’, but I really enjoyed it. I don’t know if it is because I am a big kid at heart, I got along with them all like a house on fire.

Q: You have just signed to major label Geffen, how did that come about? How does it feel?

A: It came off the back of all of the YouTube hits and starting to build up a big buzz at the shows. It is all of the hard work that had been building up over the years.

Q: You have been making music on the underground scene for years, how does your new sound compare? How do you think grime music has changed?

A: It is definitely not the same as when I first started. There is a lot to learn and you get better as you go along, it is almost a time to prove something. You want to produce something that everyone can understand & appreciate without abandoning your grass roots; do you know what I mean? So I think that it is time that new audiences started to appreciate that underground sound. Music should never stay the same, hip-hop years ago sounded completely different. It is great when music evolves, as everything needs to keep growing.

Q: Professor Green, Plan B & Example’s music has is now more commercial. What do you make of their new sound?

A: I don’t see what is wrong with it. I can’t see why someone has beef with another person’s music. If you don’t like it, don’t listen to it, it’s fair enough. I quite like a lot of the music that is out at the moment. I bought Plan B’s new album but haven’t heard Professor Green’s one yet. I really like what is going on in all of the videos, it’s all-good

Q: You put together The Movement with Devlin, what do you make of his break into mainstream? Have you had much involvement with his new material?

No, none at all. I’ve got a lot of love though for him though.

Q: Team UK is taking over at the moment, who do you rate? Are there any new artists that we should be looking out for?

I really like what is going on with Devlin right now, he is going to be big.

A: How does it feel to be a part of this new movement in UK music?

Good man, you’ve got to love every second of it. Loving it, just wanting to take it further.

Q: Finally, you have your own clothing line called Skywalker, as well as music & fashion, is there anything else that you would like to get involved in?

Another love is directing, it is something that I am really interested in.

Scorcher’s new single, It’s My Time is out on 5th September.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

